Manchester United picked up their first win of the 2020/2021 season, thanks to a controversial late penalty against Brighton.
The Red Devils looked to have dropped two points at the Amex Stadium, after Solly March made it 2-2 in stoppage time.
United responded with one last wave of attack and earned a corner kick. Bruno Fernandes cross found Harry Maguire at the far post and he directed his header towards goal.
The flight of the ball was altered by the flailing arm of Neal Maupay, but the full-time whistle had blown before the danger had been cleared by March, standing on his own goalline.
Maguire appealed and referee Chris Kavanagh checked the pitchside monitor, despite having already signalled the end of a dramatic contest.
Kavanagh quickly spotted Maupay’s offence and awarded the penalty, which Bruno Fernandes tucked away.
According to former Premier League official, Peter Walton, it was the correct decision.
“The referee has got it right. I haven’t seen that before. In the laws of the game the only thing that the referee can extend the game for after the final whistle is the taking of the penalty kick.